Message trafficking

Was in church last Thursday, and you know, pastor said a lot. You know what I mean! In fact, I felt the sermon was simply a message from heaven for all of my friends – Olu, Shade, Tony, and the whole lot of them: as in, it was more like God was set to put them aright finally. Guess that’s good news for me! You see, as pastor talked about addiction, the first thing that came to mind was how Tony can’t stop indulging in alcohol, though it’s just once in a while, but he still does. And there’s Olu who can’t help but spend half the day on BB messenger and another half on Facebook; little wonders he has 5 ‘Resits’ to write. Serious addictions, you would say, but unfortunately they were not in church that evening. Not to forget Shade, who is so finding it difficult to let go of that boyfriend of hers, but also unfortunately, today of all days, she wasn’t around to hear how that it was this relationship that has been holding her down all along. Then pastor made a call to pray for those who had some fears, and I sat back. But I wished Moses was present in church today because I felt he needed the prayer more than I did. You know, he’s been quite uncertain about many things in the recent past. And here was God reaching out to him, but again, even he was not around – so I thought.
Just in case you didn’t notice, Thursday service was so awesome. The power of God was present to solve many problems, and I’m sure you’ll testify to that. But of everything the pastor mentioned, nothing seems to apply to me; and in a very funny way, everything applied to one friend or another. Guess it wasn’t just my day!!!
Okay, hold it before you even try to condemn me. It’s not like you are any better than me, anyway. Tell me you don’t wish that your roommate was in fellowship today. As you studied your Bible yesterday, didn’t you think that portion of scripture you were reading was a clear message for that friend of yours that has an opposing view to yours in certain matters? Or tell me you did not open your eyes to see if that your classmate responded to the altar call this evening… And I can go on and on, but guess I should spare you now…
So you see, we are both as guilty of this one count charge of message trafficking!
Funny how we often see nothing wrong with our own selves! Instead, we unconsciously, and I must say carelessly, traffic whatever instructions we are being given to that other person that is inadvertently absent. And so, we benefit only but little if we do at all…

“Don’t pick on people, jump on their failures, criticize their faults — unless, of course, you want the same treatment. 2 That critical spirit has a way of boomeranging. 3 It’s easy to see a smudge on your neighbor’s face and be oblivious to the ugly sneer on your own. 4 Do you have the nerve to say, ‘Let me wash your face for you,’ when your own face is distorted by contempt? 5 It’s this whole travelling road-show mentality all over again, playing a holier-than-thou part instead of just living your part. Wipe that ugly sneer off your own face, and you might be fit to offer a washcloth to your neighbor.
Matt 7:1-6 (THE MESSAGE)

Hmmm… let us be careful of this act of message trafficking even as we set out to establish God’s kingdom this tenure…
God bless!!!

Now what do you think...

